Laminar Lip Review

(1/2) > >>

Road Grinder:
We have been testing the touring version of the laminar screen on our bike for the last month. From the very first ride I could not believe the difference. The wind noise is dramatically reduced, I often no longer wear my ear plugs on shorter trips.
Helmet buffeting and sunglasses flying off my face are now a thing of the past. We were on the highway doing around 130km/h without a problem. It's like we slice through the wind now and not constantly pushing against it. My husband also says handling is better when riding in strong gusty side winds. I would have to say that it is the best $120 spent on our bike yet. If we wear the thing out, we'll be getting another. Maybe by then Suzuki will have a better windscreen available... I'm looking forward to a lot more highway riding this summer.

Mrs. Road Grinder

Vuduchld:
Well, I'm certainly glad to hear this. Did you mount it to the stock windscreen?

I'm studying all I can about the windshield issue before I buy.

pismocycleguy:
I am sure that Andy at Laminar will be very happy to hear about your happiness with his Lip! ;D

Strum Thomper:
I don't know which Laminar lip I bought for my 1000 back in '07, as far as I recall there was only one available for a DL1000.  I attached it to the stock windscreen which I have mounted at the highest position due to the fact that I'm 6'3".

My experience is as follows:
- If I'm riding freeway speeds and no vehicles are ahead of me for at least 100 yards and I'm on a divided highway or there is no oncoming traffic, the wind protection is perfect.